Other Causes of Alt+Tab Problems

Now that I have an easy way to find and fix problems with Alt+Tab it becomes easier to identify culprits. Whenever Alt+Tab misbehaves – whenever the grid of programs goes behind the current Aero Peek window – I run AltTabFixOnce.exe to fix the problem, and identify the culprit.

(see Alt+Tab Bug Worsened by IE 10, but Fix Found for details)

It happened yesterday. It looks like there is another program that triggers this annoying explorer bug.

Here’s the output of my most recent run of AltTabFixOnce.exe:

image

It’s a bit odd because SynTPEnh.exe (Synaptics TouchPad Enhancements) has not changed in almost three years. I’d be worried that this was a false-positive except that Alt+Tab was misbehaving before I ran my fix-it program, and it behaved correctly afterwards – it seems pretty conclusive.

I could put AltTabFixContinuous.exe in my startup folder and have it automatically correct these problems without me having to know about it, but I like seeing who is being naughty.

Or at least, who is triggering this explorer bug. So far this is the first non-Microsoft program that I’ve caught.

It happened again today – while writing this post – but no new culprits showed up.

About brucedawson

I'm a programmer, working for Google, focusing on optimization and reliability. Nothing's more fun than making code run 10x faster. Unless it's eliminating large numbers of bugs. I also unicycle. And play (ice) hockey. And juggle.
This entry was posted in Bugs, Computers and Internet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Other Causes of Alt+Tab Problems

  1. xpclient says:

    Have you tried NTWind Software’s VistaSwitcher? It’s the best Alt-Tab replacement (and most gorgeous looking as well). And can show tasks only from active monitors.

  2. Pingback: Alt+Tab Bug Worsened by IE 10, But Fix Found | Random ASCII

  3. Eddy Quicksall says:

    How do I download the fix?

Leave a Reply

